[Guide] Tooltips syndication

Here you can ask your questions and post suggestions about site's development.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kiriak
Site Admin
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:30 am

[Guide] Tooltips syndication

Post by Kiriak » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:21 pm

Hello guys!

I've promised this feature for quite some time and finally it's ready.
Here is the guide on how to add our tooltips to your site.

First of all, in order for the tooltips to work, i need to add your site into the white list. So when you'll finish adding the necessary files and code to your site, PM me with the url of your site.

1. Download and save the following files on your server in some directory. For example /tooltips:
http://bdocodex.com/css/jquery.qtip.min.css
http://bdocodex.com/js/jquery-2.1.4.min.js
http://bdocodex.com/js/jquery.qtip.min.js
http://bdocodex.com/js/tooltips.min.js

2. Include these files in the <head> tag of your site:

Code: Select all

<link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="/tooltips/jquery.qtip.min.css">
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8" src="/tooltips/jquery-2.1.4.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8" src="/tooltips/jquery.qtip.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8" src="/tooltips/tooltips.min.js"></script>
Note: If your site is already using the jquery or qtip libraries you don't need to include them again.
Also be sure to store these files on your server. Do not link them directly from my site!

3. That's it. Now any link to an item, quest or npc from the database will have a tooltip.

Terms of use:
You are free to use the tooltips on your fan sites, clan forums, in your guides etc.
However, i don't want you to create the copies of the BDO codex or it's sections by using the tooltips.
I reserve the right to disable the tooltips for your site or remove this functionality entirely at any time.

Tansie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:08 pm

Re: [Guide] Tooltips syndication

Post by Tansie » Mon May 14, 2018 7:43 pm

Hi Kiriak,

Still having trouble getting this to work on blackdesertfoundry.com

Do you have it whitelisted?

User avatar
Kiriak
Site Admin
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:30 am

Re: [Guide] Tooltips syndication

Post by Kiriak » Wed May 16, 2018 8:25 pm

Hey, Tansie!
Sorry about the delay and thanks for reminding me about it!
Your site was white listed for a while now, but the problem was related to the ddos protection, which was implemented on the site. It prevents the tooltips from working.
I've contacted the support guys and they told me, what i have to do to fix that, but i've forgot to implement the fix.

I'm planning to work on it tomorrow. When everything will be ready, i'll PM to you.

User avatar
Kiriak
Site Admin
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:30 am

Re: [Guide] Tooltips syndication

Post by Kiriak » Sat May 19, 2018 8:54 pm

I've updated the tooltips script. Please update it on your site. Everything should work correctly now.

creativewild
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:31 pm

Re: [Guide] Tooltips syndication

Post by creativewild » Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:44 pm

Hi Kiriak,

I found what appears to be a small bug on the tooltips retrieval, the bug is reproducible.

How it occurs: if you have more than one link to the same item on the same page, the first item you hover will give you a proper tooltip, if after that you hover over the next link of the same item, the code will try to retrieve the information from the local website instead of bdocodex.

In short if i have two links to a Kzarka, the first Kzarka link i hover will work the second link to the same item will not.

I am using this on wordpress btw.

Thanks

User avatar
Kiriak
Site Admin
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:30 am

Re: [Guide] Tooltips syndication

Post by Kiriak » Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:21 pm

creativewild wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:44 pm
Hi Kiriak,

I found what appears to be a small bug on the tooltips retrieval, the bug is reproducible.

How it occurs: if you have more than one link to the same item on the same page, the first item you hover will give you a proper tooltip, if after that you hover over the next link of the same item, the code will try to retrieve the information from the local website instead of bdocodex.

In short if i have two links to a Kzarka, the first Kzarka link i hover will work the second link to the same item will not.

I am using this on wordpress btw.

Thanks
Sorry about the late answer.

Please give me a link to the page, where you see this bug, if possible.
By default, the tooltip for the object is cached on the client's side and should not retrieve the information from the server, but show the cached data instead.

EDIT: I've found and fixed the bug.
Please update the tooltips.min.js file on your server.

Post Reply